A Race and a War

SO I haven’t posted in a little while… recovering from my Paris/ Amsterdam trip and planning and finalizing everything for my trips to Cardiff and Cologne, and figuring things out for who knows where exactly I’ll be going in Scotland) has left me little time or energy to go around and do cool things to talk about. Well, okay there are two lies in that run-on sentence. First, I do have a good idea of where I’ll be going in Scotland – Inverness on the Northern Coast of Scotland. Second: I haven’t been too busy, more of this is my first week of Holiday and I wanted to be lazy before I had to run around and travel. 

That and I wasn’t too inactive. Took all day Tuesday to recover, that much is true, then saw War Horse on Thursday. Cheap seat – 19 GBP but they were actually really good seats – little blocked view, but only a little and the puppets are so big you can get a good idea of what they’re doing by only see half of them. I wish I could have taken some picture – but I will respect the theatre, and that’s a “no no.” We’ll have to settle for this: 

Image

 

Yesterday, a couple of friends and I popped down to the River to watch the 160th Oxford vs. Cambridge Boat Race. It was fun, better weather than we could have hoped for but not beautifully sunny – perfect English weather.

The river before it rose

Image

Which Blue are You?

Image

 

Oxford and their large lead (they’d win by 11 lengths)Image

and valiant Cambridge trying to close the gapImage

 Well I’ll be in Cardiff for the weekend, so no posts until either Sunday or Monday. Then I’m in Germany late Monday through early Friday so I’ll post again when I get back from Deutschland. 

Leave a comment